This is a Joke…right?

I was denied SSI four times.  I now receive twice-monthly surveys from an independent company asking how my experience with the Social Security Administration was?  “IT SUCKED” was obviously not the response they were looking for because the little reminder cards keep-a-comin’.  Mind you, all correspondence is tagged with the reminder that they are in strict compliance with the “Paperwork Reduction Act of blah, blah, blah…”  Goody for them.

What I want to know is how do they have the BALLS to go on a vacation to a resort in Arizona, hire an independent company to produce useless surveys and still deny SSI to someone with a disease that is progressive and inevitably devastating?

My daughter and Me

My daughter and Me

To top it all off, my daughter has Factor V Liden, a blood clotting disorder.   She suffered a massive stroke at 18 which left her in a coma for 2 weeks and rendered her unable to speak for 6 months.  Thankfully, my ex-husband had good health insurance, because I shudder to think what would have happened to her if we had to rely on the government for help.  She will probably never be able to collect a dime of the money she has paid into Social Security upon her retirement because there will be NOTHING LEFT.

How much more are we supposed to take?  I just don’t get it…

7 thoughts on “This is a Joke…right?

  1. I’m not surprised the Social Security Administration has treated you the way you’ve described Katrina. It genuinely chaps my a$$ that good people that sincerely need it are turned away, but the left or liberals in all their “benevolence” continue to create and administer entitlements galore for illegals who haven’t contributed anything and people perfectly capable of working but won’t because they know how to ‘work the system’.

  2. Seems to me that if folks with MS or Factor V Liden banded together and cried–‘look at us its all ——-(fill in)fault we have these problems-you must give us special treatment for we a minority group and we are entitled.’ Then you would probably get someones attention,but if you and yours are just regular folks just trying to get by–well I hate to say it but you offer no political gain and thus the treatment you recieve is equal to the amount of gain you offer.
    I see no hope for change on this horizon–I know other folks in similar situations who have gotten the same results–but then again their just regular people just trying to get by. I wish I could offer more than sympathy and best wishes to you and yours….keep the faith.

    • I can survive…always have, always will… My anger is not that I cannot get help so much as the reasons they give. Then to turn around and “Party on, Wayne” in Arizona, well, it’s insulting. Our government thinks we are stupid, that we don’t pay attention, that we don’t remember things…WRONG!!! That’s my anger. It also galls me to know that I have paid into this crap all of my life, so, technically it is my money…get my gist? Love ya, Bro 🙂

      • I understand what you’re saying and why, it just sucks you have to deal with the BS on top of everything else.

      • Being a Veteran, I’m sure you have dealt with a lot more crap than I ever will.

  3. You seem to be laboring under the misconception that the government, Social Security Administration and over paid, under worked government employees really care about it’s citizens.

    Hang in there kid. Keep on keeping on!

    • Thanx. I really hate to sound like I’m whining, just more examples of what happens to people when the government says “We’re here to help.”

Leave a comment