Talk about Yer “Fishy Disinformation”

Worth more than a child's future?

Worth more than a child's future?

I was very moved by a special report Sean Hannity did on Fox last night.  The government has determined that the fish pictured at the left are more important than one human life.

Are you sick yet?

And, this is not a right or left issue.  Paul Rodriguez (famous comedian) voted for Obama.  If memory serves me correctly, he campaigned for Obama.  Even though Mr. Rodriguez has respect for the office Obama holds, his disillusionment with the current state of affairs in the beautiful San Joaquin Valley of California was obvious.

If you have not yet heard this story, Pelosi and Miller supported a measure to turn off the water supply to hundreds of farms in California in order to re-route the Delta Smelt.  In case you didn’t hear me, they supported a measure to turn off the water supply to hundreds of farms!!!!! The Delta Smelt has been put on the Endangered Species List, which allows Federal Government interference in local politics.  FYI, the smelt are a source of food for the Pacific Salmon.  This was done to appease the Salmon fishing industry.  I guess the Salmon Fishermen are stronger supporters of the Democrats than the farmers in Southern California.

Many farms have gone belly-up, many more are on the brink.  People who have supplied much of our fresh fruits,vegetables and nuts (90% of the Almonds grown in the United States come from the San Joaquin Valley) for generations are now standing on line to receive food stamps.  The migrant workers hired by the San Joaquin farmers have found themselves jobless.  I thought the Left loved their migrant workers.  Obviously not so much.

What I want to know is why this story is only now coming to the forefront.  Why have these people suffered unnoticed for months?  How is the government able to use the Endangered Species Act time and time and time again to suit their personal agendas?   How can we allow this kind of abuse of power to go on?

Who’s next?  Will I turn on my faucet tomorrow and find that I have no water because the cows raised on this ranch fart too much?  I’m sorry to be so blunt, but it may come down to that.  We did have a passing issue with the local government over some jumping mouse that I have never seen.  Thankfully, clearer heads prevailed.

How dare Nancy Pelosi go on television and CRY because people are talking smack to each other over Health Care Reform, yet keep a dry eye and a smile on her face when thousands of her constituents have been left destitute!  How does this woman sleep at night?  Where is the support for these farmers?  I don’t see the kind of rage being displayed by the Left that was shown for the GM workers.  I don’t hear Obama calling Pelosi a “jackass” for allowing this to happen.  Hmmm, if the farmers and laborers made a catchy video and put it on VH1 do you think we might get him to pay attention?

Are you sick YET!?!?

12 thoughts on “Talk about Yer “Fishy Disinformation”

    • OR, go to Michigan and export them. Smelt fishing is a common pastime there. However, my husband refers to it as “smelt drinking” 🙂

  1. Yeah, we really like perch fishing in MI, some walleye never hurts either.
    (hope peta doesn’t get mad)
    The first time I heard about this problem was back in June and I had hoped that it would be settled by now, but in favor of the farmer.
    This is bad and I mean really bad. It is scary what is happening across the country.

    • My husband grew up there. I’m from New York (Rockland County). He has done a lot of fishing in MI. I LOVE to anger “People Eating Tasty Animals”, they’re so amusing. Sea Kittens?!?!?! Seriously. Anyway, why do we treat the humans in this country worse than some animals? I love my critters, but I would NEVER choose food for them over food for my child (or anyone’s child for that matter). That is essentially what the government has done.

  2. If the government does not turn the water back on we will see fresh fruits,vegetables prices skyrocket over the next two years.

    • Welcome, Hillbilly. I totally agree with you. The high milk prices we experienced last year will be NOTHING compared to the cost of a tomato in the near future. I am seriously considering breaking out my canning equipment and doing up a couple of bushels so I have fresh tomatoes for sauce. Won’t be able to afford them soon.

  3. Pingback: Nancy Pelosi: Healthcare Protests May Turn Violent « Goodtimepolitics

  4. Absolutely appaling Katrina.
    About 35 years ago I used to contract tree planting jobs with the U.S. Forest Service…planting trees in forests destroyed by fire or clear cut logging. For a couple years I also planted fruit and almond trees in the San Joachin Valley, the very place where this is happening, and just can’t imagine the despair these folks must feel.
    Paul Rodriguez hit it right in this video…the farmers did nothing wrong and they’re being punished and put out of business.
    Yes ma’am I’m sick!

    • And, once again, Fox is the only news channel to shed light on the subject. I’m not anyone’s cheerleader, but they have brought many important issues to the forefront that other news programs don’t have the guts to investigate. Hmmm, I thought NBC was the “we bring good things to light” network…Kudos to you, Steve, for your work in the reforestation efforts. My heart breaks for those people. I wish I could just go there and turn the water on for them.

      • I’m with you Katrina…I’d like to turn that water on too. These weasels in government are out of contol. These farmers have been feeding this country and probably others for decades, and now their finished … gawd, I can’t stand it. That area is some of the most fertile land in America, and absolutely beautiful.
        Geez, I’d better stop ’cause my a$$ is getting chapped…:(

Leave a comment